School holidays - City of Melbourne
Skip to main content
Search by
Date
Category
Search
Search
Date
Category
Clear

School holidays

Find ways to entertain the whole family over the school holidays. There's so much happening in Melbourne, including plenty of free and low cost kids' activities.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

The summer school holidays in Victoria run from Saturday 21 December 2019 to Tuesday 28 January 2020. Plan your school holiday activities with our guide to what's on for kids and families over the break.


School holiday highlights

Image of Christmas Projections
Fri 29 Nov 2019 to Wed 25 Dec 2019
Melbourne comes alive with glittering light projections again this Christmas, over three locations in the city.
Image of Christmas in Melbourne
Celebrate Christmas in Melbourne with stunning projections, christmas carols, festive markets and a visit from Santa.
Image of Carols By Candlelight
Tue 24 Dec 2019, 8pm – midnight
Celebrate Christmas Eve at Carols by Candlelight – the annual Christmas concert and fundraiser for Vision Australia's children's services.
Image of Crown's Christmas Spectacular
Sun 24 Nov 2019 to Sun 05 Jan 2020
Now in its 22nd year, Crown's Atrium Spectacular show runs on the hour every hour.
Image of Santa's House
Sat 30 Nov 2019 to Tue 24 Dec 2019
Visit Santa's House in Christmas Square to have your photo taken with the man in red.
Image of Myer Christmas Windows
Sun 10 Nov 2019 to Sun 05 Jan 2020
One of Melbourne's most anticipated Christmas traditions, Myer Christmas Windows, has finally launched, revealing May Gibbs' The Gumnut Babies theme.
Image of Sesame Street: 50 Years and Counting
Fri 25 Oct 2019 to Tue 28 Jan 2020
Melbourne Central hosts the iconic Sesame Street exhibition, bringing all your favourite scruffy muppets to Melbourne.
Image of Christmas Square at Federation Square
Fri 29 Nov 2019 to Tue 24 Dec 2019
Visit Santa and marvel at the nightly Christmas Tree Light shows at Christmas Square.
Image of Gingerbread Village
Sat 30 Nov 2019 to Tue 24 Dec 2019
See iconic Melbourne landmarks built entirely out of gingerbread in this magical event for the whole family.
Image of Lego Australia Rebuilds the Twelve Days of Christmas
Tue 03 Dec 2019 to Mon 30 Dec 2019
Lego Australia reimagines the iconic Christmas carol the 'The Twelve Days of Christmas' with 12 live murals painted by 12 Australian artists.
Image of The District Slip and Slide
Mon 06 Jan 2020 to Sun 26 Jan 2020
A giant 25-metre water slide is the perfect way to cool down on the hottest days of the summer holidays!
Image of Mini Mega Model Museum
Sat 07 Dec 2019 to Tue 30 Jun 2020
Discover more than 200 astounding models from the museum's own collection: zoomed-in, miniature, life-sized and everything in between.
Image of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Wed 16 Jan 2019 to Sun 12 Jul 2020
Experience the magic of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two.
Image of Harry Potter at Myer
Fri 18 Oct 2019 to Thu 31 Dec 2020
Visit the Harry Potter Shop at Myer for unique experiences!
Image of 10 Minute Dance Parties
Thu 16 Jan 2020 to Fri 24 Jan 2020
Welcome to the best dance party of your life. Your time starts...now!
Image of NGV Kids Summer Festival
Sat 11 Jan 2020 to Sun 19 Jan 2020
Get creative this January at the annual NGV Kids Summer Festival.
Image of Sunday at the Baths Series
Sun 10 Nov 2019 to Sun 23 Feb 2020
This summer Carlton Baths hosts live music and other fun activities to keep you entertained and cool during the hottest time of the year.
Image of Kaws: Playtime
Fri 20 Sep 2019 to Mon 13 Apr 2020
Come and play in this dedicated kids exhibition created by the New York artist known as Kaws.
Image of The 91-Storey Treehouse
Sat 04 Jan 2020 to Sun 19 Jan 2020
Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton's best-selling book comes to life on stage for children aged 6+ and their adults!
Image of Global Youth Summit
Sun 19 Jan 2020 to Tue 21 Jan 2020
The Actions for Earth Global Youth Summit is a three-day event for 11-18year olds, that focuses on the United Nations' sustainable development goals.
Image of Cirque Stratosphere
Fri 03 Jan 2020 to Sat 11 Jan 2020
This summer’s smash hit spectacular, Cirque Stratosphere, will turn Hamer Hall into a space age utopia for 8 days only in January.
Image of Stick By Me
Tue 14 Jan 2020 to Sat 18 Jan 2020
A beautifully crafted production about friendship and the importance of treasuring little things.
Image of Brickvention
Sat 18 Jan 2020 to Sun 19 Jan 2020
Brickvention is Australia's premier Lego fan convention, featuring hundreds of fan-built models at the Royal Exhibition Building.

All school holiday events

See a list of all summer school holiday activities for kids.


More for kids and families

Image of Kids' attractions
There is plenty going on in the city to entertain kids and the whole family, from the aquarium to the zoo, and museums to ice-skating.
Image of Kids & family
Melbourne has loads of events and activities for children. There are family-friendly festivals like Moomba, school-holiday workshops, exhibitions and more.

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch