What's On in May - City of Melbourne
Skip to main content
Search by
Date
Category
Search
Search
Date
Category
Clear

What's On in May

A child trying out virtual reality goggles at a Melbourne Knowledge Week event.
​Find out what's on in Melbourne in May, from beer and coffee festivals to Melbourne Knowledge Week.​​

May overview

May in Melbourne is a month of festivals, dedicated to all of the senses.

Celebrate technology and innovation at Melbourne Knowledge Week, sample craft beers at Good Beer Week (15 - 24 May) and get your caffeine fix at the Melbourne Coffee Expo.

Pat lovable pooches at the Dog Lovers Show (1 - 3 May), see student works at Top Arts and check out a new NGV exhibition for kids, Olaf Breuning: Plans for the Planet.


May events highlights

Image of Melbourne Knowledge Week
Mon 11 May 2020 to Sun 17 May 2020
Discover bold ideas, inspiring creativity and smart technologies in a week of future-focused events for curious minds of all ages.
Image of Madama Butterfly
Wed 06 May 2020 to Thu 28 May 2020
Constrained, cocooned, caught in a moment of desire, Butterfly is irresistible.
Image of Billy Elliot the Musical
Thu 20 Feb 2020 to Sat 30 May 2020
Be inspired. Be electrified. Billy Elliot the Musical is coming to Melbourne's Regent Theatre!
Image of Boho Luxe Market
Sun 03 May 2020, 10am – 4pm
Join the Tribe for a huge one-day shopping extravaganza, one week before Mother's Day, with cool tunes, great food and beautiful market stalls.
Image of Macbeth (This Ignorant Present)
Sat 09 May 2020 to Sun 31 May 2020
Far from Scotland, a man tinkering in his cellar has assembled a cage-like contraption from hoarded junk, where something wicked is being stirred up.
Image of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Wed 16 Jan 2019 to Sun 12 Jul 2020
Experience the magic of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two.
Image of Spirit of the Dance
Wed 06 May 2020, 7:30pm – 9:30pm
International dance sensation 'Spirit of the Dance' has conquered the world and is coming to Australia in 2020.
Image of Japanese Modernism
Fri 28 Feb 2020 to Sun 04 Oct 2020
Visually inspiring art and design from this fascinating and little recognised era of Asian art.
Image of K-Box
Fri 29 May 2020 to Sun 21 Jun 2020
A 30-something Korean adoptee finds the raucous and riotous side of family in this surreal comedy.
Image of Top Arts 2020
Fri 13 Mar 2020 to Sun 12 Jul 2020
Top Arts 2020 celebrates the exceptional and thought-provoking work of VCE Art and VCE Studio Arts students.
Image of Destiny Deacon
Fri 27 Mar 2020 to Sun 09 Aug 2020
Destiny Deacon is one of Australia’s boldest and most acclaimed contemporary artists. Destiny marks the artist’s first solo show in over 15 years.
Image of Melbourne International Coffee Expo 2020
Mon 04 May 2020 to Thu 07 May 2020
Melbourne International Coffee Expo (MICE) returns to Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre in May 2020!
Image of Hamlet
Thu 23 Apr 2020 to Sun 10 May 2020
Ordered to kill. Tempted to resist. Live or die. Bell Shakespeare's presents one of Shakespeare's most iconic and tragic works.
Image of Ivan Durrant: Barrier Draw
Fri 01 May 2020 to Sun 25 Oct 2020
Described as the enfant terrible of Australian art, Ivan Durrant is a leading exponent of photorealist painting.
Image of Lohengrin
Sat 16 May 2020 to Fri 29 May 2020
Lohengrin is a fantastical romance filled with shimmering string passages and angelic choruses.
Image of SIX the Musical
Thu 23 Apr 2020 to Sun 07 Jun 2020
From Tudor Queens to Pop Princesses, the six wives of Henry VIII take to the microphone to tell their tales.
Image of Olaf Breuning: Plans for the Planet
Fri 22 May 2020 to Sat 31 Oct 2020
Artist Olaf Breuning presents a large-scale participatory exhibition for children that plays to young people’s universal love of adventure.

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch