What's On in February - City of Melbourne
Skip to main content
Search by
Date
Category
Search
Search
Date
Category
Clear

What's On in February

Crowd at Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Sidney Meyer Concerts.
Find out what's on in Melbourne in Feburary, from concerts and festivals to movies under the stars and Chinese New Year celebrations.

February overview

February in Melbourne is buzzing with live music, cultural festivals and outdoor fun.

Enjoy the spectacle of Chinese New Year and celebrate Melbourne's vibrant communities at the Lonsdale Street Greek Festival or the Northside Summer Festival.

Pack a picnic for Zoo Twilights and the Moonlight Cinema, and enjoy free family entertainment at Movies Under the Stars or the Sidney Myer Concerts.


February events highlights

Image of Australian Open
Mon 20 Jan 2020 to Sun 02 Feb 2020
Be open to anything at Australian Open 2020. Watch, cheer and play your way through fourteen days of on and off court action and entertainment.
Image of Midsumma Festival
Sun 19 Jan 2020 to Sun 09 Feb 2020
Midsumma Festival is Victoria's premier three-week LGBTQIA+ arts and cultural festival celebrating diversity and inclusion.
Image of Chicago
Sat 14 Dec 2019 to Sun 23 Feb 2020
A universal tale of fame, fortune and all that jazz, Chicago has one show-stopping song after another and the slickest dancing in town.
Image of War Horse
Fri 10 Jan 2020 to Sat 08 Feb 2020
War Horse, the unforgettable theatrical event from the National Theatre of Great Britain, is returning to Melbourne in February 2020.
Image of Moonlight Cinema
Thu 28 Nov 2019 to Sun 29 Mar 2020
Picturesque parklands, sparkling summer starlight and fantastic food – gather your loved ones and treat yourself to a night of cinematic splendour.
Image of AO Live Stage
Sun 19 Jan 2020 to Sun 02 Feb 2020
A stellar line-up of artists perform at the AO Live Stage offering 15 days of music at Australian Open 2020.
Image of Microbat Bioblitzes
Mon 03 Feb 2020 to Sat 22 Feb 2020
Learn about mozzie-munching microbats and help collect valuable data.
Image of Summer Night Market
Wed 20 Nov 2019 to Wed 11 Mar 2020
Melbourne’s original and favourite night market returns to Queen Vic Market for its biggest summer yet.
Image of Movie Night at Kensington Town Hall: 2040
Fri 14 Feb 2020, 8pm – till late
Watch a screening of the film 2040, an Australian film about solutions to Global Warming.
Image of Cinema at the 'G
Fri 14 Feb 2020 to Sat 15 Feb 2020
Don't miss your chance to attend Melbourne's most spectacular open-air cinema!
Image of Australia v Victorian All-Stars – Ice Hockey Challenge
Sat 15 Feb 2020 to Sun 16 Feb 2020
After seven years, Australia’s Men’s National Ice Hockey team, the Mighty Roos, are back in Melbourne for the Ice Hockey Challenge 2020.
Image of NGV Friday Nights
Fri 06 Dec 2019 to Fri 10 Apr 2020
NGV Friday Nights returns this summer during the Keith Haring | Jean-Michel Basquiat: Crossing Lines exhibition.
Image of Vegetable and Herb Installation
Wed 08 Jan 2020 to Sat 15 Feb 2020
Check out a stunning display of herbs and vegetables including zucchini, corn, eggplant and chillies along with rosemary, mint, parsley and more.
Image of Lunar New Year Family Weekend
Sat 08 Feb 2020 to Sun 09 Feb 2020
Enjoy an unforgettable weekend at Melbourne Museum to celebrate the Year of the Rat.
Image of Opera for the People
Sat 01 Feb 2020, 8pm – till late
Opera for the People is a free performance at the Sidney Myer Music Bowl.
Image of Hamlet - The Australian Shakespeare Company
Fri 20 Dec 2019 to Sun 09 Feb 2020
The Australian Shakespeare Company's 'Under the Stars' program presents Hamlet, arguably the greatest tragedy in English theatre.
Image of Mini Mega Model Museum
Sat 07 Dec 2019 to Tue 30 Jun 2020
Discover more than 200 astounding models from the museum's own collection: zoomed-in, miniature, life-sized and everything in between.
Image of Composting and Worm Farming for Beginners
Sat 01 Feb 2020, 10:30am – noon
Learn the basics of reducing your household waste through composting or worm farming.
Image of Summer of Dance
Mon 02 Dec 2019 to Sat 29 Feb 2020
Shimmy into the Immigration Museum this summer as it celebrates dance with participatory dance experiences, residencies and performances.
Image of Chinese New Year
Chinese New Year is the biggest event on Melbourne's Chinese calendar, featuring several weeks of celebration and festivities.
Image of Come From Away
Wed 03 Jul 2019 to Sun 08 Mar 2020
Don't miss this new Broadway musical that tells the true 9/11 story of thousands of stranded passengers and the Newfoundland town that welcomed them.
Image of MSO Sidney Myer Free Concerts
Wed 05 Feb 2020 to Fri 14 Feb 2020
The Melbourne Symphony Orchestra's beloved summer tradition returns in 2020!
Image of Pause Fest
Wed 05 Feb 2020 to Fri 07 Feb 2020
Pause Fest is designed for progress – everyone eager to develop, network, grow their businesses and explore innovative ways of thinking and doing.
Image of Zoo Twilights
Fri 24 Jan 2020 to Sat 07 Mar 2020
Zoo Twilights invites concert-goers to pick a spot under the stars on Melbourne Zoo's lawns for an unforgettable night of music.
Image of Elton John – Farewell Yellow Brick Road
Sat 22 Feb 2020, 4pm – till late
Music icon Elton John visits Australia on his epic Farewell Yellow Brick Road tour, delivering his famed songbook on his very last tour.
Image of National Sustainable Living Festival
Sat 01 Feb 2020 to Sat 29 Feb 2020
The Sustainable Living Festival aims to inspire and provide solutions to the sustainability and climate challenges we face.
Image of Sunday at the Baths Series
Sun 10 Nov 2019 to Sun 23 Feb 2020
This summer Carlton Baths hosts live music and other fun activities to keep you entertained and cool during the hottest time of the year.
Image of Chinese New Year Melbourne Festival
Fri 24 Jan 2020 to Sun 26 Jan 2020
Vibrant festivities emblazon the city this January as the Chinese New Year Melbourne Festival celebrates the Year of the Rat.
Image of Sow Grow Graze: Summer Demo
Sat 01 Feb 2020, 10:30am – noon
Learn about food, sustainability and seasonality with demo dishes prepared that are easy to make at home.
Image of Billy Elliot the Musical
Thu 20 Feb 2020 to Sat 30 May 2020
Be inspired. Be electrified. Billy Elliot the Musical is coming to Melbourne's Regent Theatre!
Image of Opera in the Market
Mon 17 Feb 2020, 7:45pm – 10:30pm
Opera in the Market returns to Queen Vic Market for one special night!
Image of Lonsdale Street Greek Festival
Sat 29 Feb 2020 to Sun 01 Mar 2020
Come along to the Lonsdale Street Greek Festival for a weekend of Greek food, fun and festivities!
Image of Melbourne Japanese Summer Festival
Sun 23 Feb 2020, 11:30am – 5:30pm
The Melbourne Japanese Summer Festival is a family-friendly event with spectacular cultural demonstrations.
Image of Kaws: Companionship in the Age of Loneliness
Fri 20 Sep 2019 to Mon 13 Apr 2020
Explore a comprehensive survey of 25 years of the oeuvre of the New York artist known as Kaws, full of humour, hope and humanity.
Image of Keith Haring | Jean-Michel Basquiat: Crossing Lines
Sun 01 Dec 2019 to Mon 13 Apr 2020
In this world premiere exhibition, explore the work of two of the most significant and influential artists of the late 20th century.
Image of Movies Under the Stars at Yarra's Edge
Fri 14 Feb 2020 to Sat 15 Feb 2020
Sit back and relax under the stars by the Yarra River this summer with your valentine, family or friends at Movies Under The Stars at Yarra's Edge.
Image of Summertime Social
Fri 03 Jan 2020 to Sun 05 Apr 2020
Summertime Social is transforming Federation Square’s Skyline Terrace into Melbourne’s biggest rooftop playground.
Image of Northside Summer Festival
Sat 15 Feb 2020 to Sat 22 Feb 2020
North and West Melbourne get together again this summer to celebrate and showcase all things fabulous and unique within the neighbourhood.
Image of Japanese Modernism
Fri 28 Feb 2020 to Sun 04 Oct 2020
Visually inspiring art and design from this fascinating and little recognised era of Asian art.
Image of Transitions Film Festival
Thu 20 Feb 2020 to Fri 06 Mar 2020
Transitions Film Festival returns to Cinema Nova this February with another line-up of cutting-edge films aimed at inspiring a better world.
Image of Our Bodies, Our Voices, Our Marks
Fri 24 May 2019 to Sun 05 Apr 2020
Our Bodies, Our Voices, Our Marks is a suite of exhibitions and experiences exploring the art of tattoo.
Image of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Wed 16 Jan 2019 to Sun 12 Jul 2020
Experience the magic of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two.
Image of Ride Melbourne Community Cycling Event
Sun 09 Feb 2020, 10:30am – 3:30pm
Enjoy a free, family-friendly bike ride around the final leg of the international Jayco Herald Sun Tour circuit, followed by fun at the festival hub.

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch