Theatre & shows - City of Melbourne
Skip to main content
Search by
Date
Category
Search
Search
Date
Category
Clear

Theatre & shows

Theatre interior
Melbourne's theatre scene offers a wealth of entertainment, from blockbuster musicals to cutting-edge performances and late-night cabaret shows.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
 

 Major performances

 
Image of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Wed 16 Jan 2019 to Sun 12 Jul 2020
Experience the magic of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two.
Image of Billy Elliot the Musical
Thu 20 Feb 2020 to Sat 30 May 2020
Be inspired. Be electrified. Billy Elliot the Musical is coming to Melbourne's Regent Theatre!
Image of Come From Away
Wed 03 Jul 2019 to Sun 08 Mar 2020
Don't miss this new Broadway musical that tells the true 9/11 story of thousands of stranded passengers and the Newfoundland town that welcomed them.
Image of War Horse
Fri 10 Jan 2020 to Sat 08 Feb 2020
War Horse, the unforgettable theatrical event from the National Theatre of Great Britain, is returning to Melbourne in February 2020.
Image of Chicago
Sat 14 Dec 2019 to Sun 23 Feb 2020
A universal tale of fame, fortune and all that jazz, Chicago has one show-stopping song after another and the slickest dancing in town.
Image of Hamlet - The Australian Shakespeare Company
Fri 20 Dec 2019 to Sun 09 Feb 2020
The Australian Shakespeare Company's 'Under the Stars' program presents Hamlet, arguably the greatest tragedy in English theatre.
Image of Cirque du Soleil's Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities
Thu 12 Mar 2020 to Sun 26 Apr 2020
Cirque du Soleil's brand new show, Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities is set to tour Melbourne from March 2020 under the new grey and white Big Top.
Image of Melbourne International Comedy Festival
Wed 25 Mar 2020 to Sun 19 Apr 2020
The lights of Melbourne shine a little bit brighter when the Melbourne International Comedy Festival takes over town!
 

 All performances

 
Amore e Morte - Saturday 08 February 2020, 5:30pm to 5:55pm - Performing arts

Amore e Morte

8 Feb 2020, The Butterfly Club
A new cabaret and dramatic song cycle, playing for one night only.
Alice in Wonderland - Friday 17 January 2020 to Saturday 18 January 2020 - Performing arts

Alice in Wonderland

17 Jan 2020 - 18 Jan 2020, Athenaeum Theatre
Back by popular demand, the international smash hit production of Lewis Carroll's timeless classic Alice in Wonderland, comes to life on stage.
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory - Friday 09 August 2019 to Sunday 02 February 2020 - Performing arts

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

9 Aug 2019 - 2 Feb 2020, Her Majesty's Theatre
Roald Dahl’s delicious tale, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, is a delectable treat featuring songs from the original film.
The Top Secret Violin Case - Tuesday 21 January 2020 to Sunday 26 January 2020 - Performing arts

The Top Secret Violin Case

21 Jan 2020 - 26 Jan 2020, La Mama Courthouse
See an absurdist dark comedy set in the Romanian communist regime featuring Vardos playing live onstage.
Edith Piaf: Love, Life and No Regrets  - Tuesday 03 December 2019 to Wednesday 29 April 2020 - Performing arts

Edith Piaf: Love, Life and No Regrets

3 Dec 2019 - 29 Apr 2020, Speakeasy HQ
French cabaret sensation Jem Appelle presents the life story, songs and loves of superstar Edith Piaf in a stunning 90-minute cabaret performance.
Burlesque Extravaganza  - Friday 06 December 2019 to Saturday 27 June 2020 - Performing arts

Burlesque Extravaganza

6 Dec 2019 - 27 Jun 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Burlesque Extravaganza is the quintessential Melbourne burlesque experience, set in a theatre that was once an 1850s bank.
Downtown  – The Petula Clark and Carole King Essentials - Friday 20 December 2019 to Wednesday 25 March 2020 - Performing arts

Downtown – The Petula Clark and Carole King Essentials

20 Dec 2019 - 25 Mar 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Enjoy a cabaret performance that brings you the essential songs by Carole King and Petula Clark, presented by vintage soul singer Amy Audrey.
Dusty – Son of a Preacher Man in Cabaret - Wednesday 11 December 2019 to Wednesday 18 March 2020 - Performing arts

Dusty – Son of a Preacher Man in Cabaret

11 Dec 2019 - 18 Mar 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Enjoy the songs and story of Dusty Springfield, brought to life in a stunning cabaret tribute performance by acclaimed cabaret artist, Mel Djuric.
#Hypocrisy - Monday 13 January 2020 to Saturday 25 January 2020 - Performing arts

#Hypocrisy

13 Jan 2020 - 25 Jan 2020, The Butterfly Club
@Hypocrisy is a modern take on poetry with original music, whip-cracking with energy and dark humour.
MMeets – MTC at MPavilion - Thursday 19 December 2019 to Saturday 21 March 2020 - Performing arts

MMeets – MTC at MPavilion

19 Dec 2019 - 21 Mar 2020, MPavilion
Join in to become part of the development of new Australian plays.

Refine results

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch