Theatre & shows - City of Melbourne
Skip to main content
Search by
Date
Category
Search
Search
Date
Category
Clear

Theatre & shows

Theatre interior
Melbourne's theatre scene offers a wealth of entertainment, from blockbuster musicals to cutting-edge performances and late-night cabaret shows.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
 

 Major performances

 
Image of Billy Elliot the Musical
Thu 20 Feb 2020 to Sat 30 May 2020
This event has been CANCELLED due to coronavirus. Visit the website (www.billyelliotthemusical.com.au) for more details.
Image of Shrek the Musical
Sun 16 Feb 2020 to Sun 03 May 2020
Performances have been CANCELLED due to COVID-19. Please visit hmt.com.au for more information.
Image of Friends! The Musical Parody
Thu 27 Aug 2020 to Sat 29 Aug 2020
Friends! The Musical Parody celebrates the misadventures of our favourite group of 20-something pals in life, wok and love in 1990s Manhattan.
Image of Cirque du Soleil's Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities
Thu 12 Mar 2020 to Sun 10 May 2020
Kurios has been CANCELLED due to coronavirus - visit www.cirquedusoleil.com/faq/covid-19 for more information
Image of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Wed 16 Jan 2019 to Sun 12 Jul 2020
All performances of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child have been CANCELLED until April 13 - visit website for updates.
Image of Melbourne International Comedy Festival
Wed 25 Mar 2020 to Sun 19 Apr 2020
This festival has been CANCELLED due to coronavirus.
 

 All performances

 
Chicago – And All That Jazz - Friday 17 January 2020 to Saturday 26 September 2020 - Performing arts

Chicago – And All That Jazz

17 Jan 2020 - 26 Sep 2020, Speakeasy HQ
What better place to take in the brilliance of Chicago's stunning musical anthems than at Speakeasy HQ?
Legends or (the God Killers) - Friday 22 May 2020 to Friday 29 May 2020 - Performing arts

Legends or (the God Killers)

22 May 2020 - 29 May 2020, Meat Market
A heightened feminist fantasia exploring three generations of women as they wrestle with 'gods' beneath an arena.
Full Hour - Friday 08 May 2020, 7pm to 9pm - Performing arts

Full Hour

8 May 2020, The Toff In Town
The Full Hour is a jam-packed 60-minutes of comedy, music, influencers, big giveaways and more.
Cactus - Tuesday 23 June 2020 to Sunday 28 June 2020 - Performing arts

Cactus

23 Jun 2020 - 28 Jun 2020, La Mama Courthouse
Everyone knows that friendships made in bathrooms are ones that last for life.
Katyn’ - Wednesday 17 June 2020 to Sunday 21 June 2020 - Performing arts

Katyn’

17 Jun 2020 - 21 Jun 2020, La Mama Courthouse
Join the 80th Anniversary Tour (1940–2020) to Katyn Forest with Uncle Joe and Friends, to visit the most infamously ignored crime of the 20th century.
In the Mirror - Tuesday 09 June 2020 to Sunday 14 June 2020 - Performing arts

In the Mirror

9 Jun 2020 - 14 Jun 2020, La Mama Courthouse
Written and directed by Mammad Aidani, In the Mirror is about Shaun and Virginia, who are desperately looking for work.
The Sublime … Version 2 … A Further Examination - Tuesday 02 June 2020 to Sunday 07 June 2020 - Performing arts

The Sublime … Version 2 … A Further Examination

2 Jun 2020 - 7 Jun 2020, La Mama Courthouse
This new work is a follow-up to the production performed in June 2019.
Club Voltaire Cabaret - Saturday 15 February 2020 to Tuesday 30 June 2020 - Performing arts

Club Voltaire Cabaret

15 Feb 2020 - 30 Jun 2020, Club Voltaire
Join Club Voltaire for regular Thursday and Saturday night entertainment, featuring some of Melbourne's best up and coming cabaret artists.
Gin Joint and Music Hall – Vintage Cabaret for the Soul - Wednesday 12 February 2020 to Wednesday 24 June 2020 - Performing arts

Gin Joint and Music Hall – Vintage Cabaret for the Soul

12 Feb 2020 - 24 Jun 2020, Speakeasy HQ
If you crave the opportunity to sing along with live music to songs from artists you know and love, then Gin Joint Music Hall is for you!
Friends! The Musical Parody - Thursday 27 August 2020 to Saturday 29 August 2020 - Performing arts

Friends! The Musical Parody

27 Aug 2020 - 29 Aug 2020, Comedy Theatre
Friends! The Musical Parody celebrates the misadventures of our favourite group of 20-something pals in life, wok and love in 1990s Manhattan.

Refine results

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch