Theatre & shows - City of Melbourne
Skip to main content
Search by
Date
Category
Search
Search
Date
Category
Clear

Theatre & shows

Theatre interior
Melbourne's theatre scene offers a wealth of entertainment, from blockbuster musicals to cutting-edge performances and late-night cabaret shows.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
 

 Major performances

 
Image of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Wed 16 Jan 2019 to Sun 12 Jul 2020
Experience the magic of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two.
Image of Billy Elliot the Musical
Thu 20 Feb 2020 to Sat 30 May 2020
Be inspired. Be electrified. Billy Elliot the Musical is coming to Melbourne's Regent Theatre!
Image of Come From Away
Wed 03 Jul 2019 to Sun 08 Mar 2020
Don't miss this new Broadway musical that tells the true 9/11 story of thousands of stranded passengers and the Newfoundland town that welcomed them.
Image of War Horse
Fri 10 Jan 2020 to Sat 08 Feb 2020
War Horse, the unforgettable theatrical event from the National Theatre of Great Britain, is returning to Melbourne in February 2020.
Image of Chicago
Sat 14 Dec 2019 to Sun 23 Feb 2020
A universal tale of fame, fortune and all that jazz, Chicago has one show-stopping song after another and the slickest dancing in town.
Image of Hamlet - The Australian Shakespeare Company
Fri 20 Dec 2019 to Sun 09 Feb 2020
The Australian Shakespeare Company's 'Under the Stars' program presents Hamlet, arguably the greatest tragedy in English theatre.
Image of Cirque du Soleil's Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities
Thu 12 Mar 2020 to Sun 26 Apr 2020
Cirque du Soleil's brand new show, Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities is set to tour Melbourne from March 2020 under the new grey and white Big Top.
Image of Melbourne International Comedy Festival
Wed 25 Mar 2020 to Sun 19 Apr 2020
The lights of Melbourne shine a little bit brighter when the Melbourne International Comedy Festival takes over town!
 

 All performances

 
Love by the Hour - Monday 20 January 2020 to Saturday 25 January 2020 - Performing arts

Love by the Hour

20 Jan 2020 - 25 Jan 2020, The Butterfly Club
From the writer of the 2019 Midsumma Festival hit 'The Rest is Drag' and 2016's 'The Adulteresses' comes this new tale of sex and friendship.
Speakeasy HQ 20 Act Vaudeville and Burlesque   - Friday 20 December 2019 to Saturday 30 May 2020 - Performing arts

Speakeasy HQ 20 Act Vaudeville and Burlesque

20 Dec 2019 - 30 May 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Immerse yourself in the only vaudeville bar and theatre in Australia with 20 fast-paced jazz, stand-up, circus, cabaret and burlesque acts.
Aphrodisiac Burlesque - Friday 20 December 2019 to Saturday 25 April 2020 - Performing arts

Aphrodisiac Burlesque

20 Dec 2019 - 25 Apr 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Experience the most quintessentially Melbourne burlesque show in town, with stunning variety and burlesque acts and a comedian MC.
Applause - 1930s Berlin-Inspired Cabaret and Burlesque - Friday 20 December 2019 to Saturday 04 July 2020 - Performing arts

Applause - 1930s Berlin-Inspired Cabaret and Burlesque

20 Dec 2019 - 4 Jul 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Come along to cabaret that harks back to 1930s Berlin with live acts including jazz, circus and burlesque.
Nineteen Twen-Tease  - Friday 20 December 2019 to Saturday 27 June 2020 - Performing arts

Nineteen Twen-Tease

20 Dec 2019 - 27 Jun 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Nineteen Twen-Tease presents a variety and burlesque line-up like no other.
Killer Queen - Saturday 01 February 2020, 9pm to 10:30pm - Performing arts

Killer Queen

1 Feb 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Mr Burlesque superstar, Jack London, presents a mesmerising story of passion, love, despair, rejection and finding one's true identity.
Dahlin! It's the Jeanne Little Show - Monday 27 January 2020 to Saturday 01 February 2020 - Performing arts

Dahlin! It's the Jeanne Little Show

27 Jan 2020 - 1 Feb 2020, The Butterfly Club
This high energy and fantastically funny show is the story of an Australian icon who did things her way.
Belinda Hanne Reid: Love, Rorem - Wednesday 05 February 2020 to Thursday 06 February 2020 - Performing arts

Belinda Hanne Reid: Love, Rorem

5 Feb 2020 - 6 Feb 2020, Fortyfivedownstairs Inc
An intimate, cabaret-style celebration of the songs and diaries of the brilliant (and often scandalous) 20th century composer, Ned Rorem.
Gobby - Monday 16 March 2020 to Saturday 21 March 2020 - Performing arts

Gobby

16 Mar 2020 - 21 Mar 2020, The Butterfly Club
Gobby is a darkly-comic story of survival and lesson in how to throw a really good party.
Varietease - Friday 13 December 2019 to Saturday 23 May 2020 - Performing arts

Varietease

13 Dec 2019 - 23 May 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Varietease brings the funniest and most tantalising live acts together all on the same stage with burlesque, comedy, jazz and circus.

Refine results

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch