Theatre & shows - City of Melbourne
Skip to main content
Search by
Date
Category
Search
Search
Date
Category
Clear

Theatre & shows

Theatre interior
Melbourne's theatre scene offers a wealth of entertainment, from blockbuster musicals to cutting-edge performances and late-night cabaret shows.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
 

 Major performances

 
Image of Billy Elliot the Musical
Thu 20 Feb 2020 to Sat 30 May 2020
This event has been CANCELLED due to coronavirus. Visit the website (www.billyelliotthemusical.com.au) for more details.
Image of Shrek the Musical
Sun 16 Feb 2020 to Sun 03 May 2020
Performances have been CANCELLED due to COVID-19. Please visit hmt.com.au for more information.
Image of Friends! The Musical Parody
Thu 27 Aug 2020 to Sat 29 Aug 2020
Friends! The Musical Parody celebrates the misadventures of our favourite group of 20-something pals in life, wok and love in 1990s Manhattan.
Image of Cirque du Soleil's Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities
Thu 12 Mar 2020 to Sun 10 May 2020
Kurios has been CANCELLED due to coronavirus - visit www.cirquedusoleil.com/faq/covid-19 for more information
Image of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Wed 16 Jan 2019 to Sun 12 Jul 2020
All performances of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child have been CANCELLED until April 13 - visit website for updates.
Image of Melbourne International Comedy Festival
Wed 25 Mar 2020 to Sun 19 Apr 2020
This festival has been CANCELLED due to coronavirus.
 

 All performances

 
Harlem Nights: The Harlem Jazz Renaissance - Saturday 02 May 2020 to Wednesday 19 August 2020 - Performing arts

Harlem Nights: The Harlem Jazz Renaissance

2 May 2020 - 19 Aug 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Ashleigh Marshall will take you on an exquisite 90-minute journey that spans the hits of a generation.
Open Mic Musical Jamboree  - Wednesday 08 January 2020 to Wednesday 30 September 2020 - Performing arts

Open Mic Musical Jamboree

8 Jan 2020 - 30 Sep 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Bring your trumpet, sound out a song or play the upright piano, the musical jamboree open mic is back.
Billy Elliot the Musical - Thursday 20 February 2020 to Saturday 30 May 2020 - Performing arts

Billy Elliot the Musical

20 Feb 2020 - 30 May 2020, Regent Theatre
This event has been CANCELLED due to coronavirus. Visit the website (www.billyelliotthemusical.com.au) for more details.
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Wednesday 16 January 2019 to Sunday 12 July 2020 - Performing arts

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

16 Jan 2019 - 12 Jul 2020, Princess Theatre
All performances of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child have been CANCELLED until April 13 - visit website for updates.
Hanging by a Thread... - Sunday 22 March 2020 to Sunday 05 April 2020 - Performing arts

Hanging by a Thread...

22 Mar 2020 - 5 Apr 2020, Old Treasury Building
This event has been CANCELLED due to coronavirus. Visit the website for further information: www.oldtreasurybuilding.org.au/
Taking the Waters - Wednesday 01 April 2020 to Saturday 04 April 2020 - Performing arts

Taking the Waters

1 Apr 2020 - 4 Apr 2020, Melbourne Recital Centre
This event has been CANCELLED due to coronavirus.
Cirque du Soleil's Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities - Thursday 12 March 2020 to Sunday 10 May 2020 - Performing arts

Cirque du Soleil's Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities

12 Mar 2020 - 10 May 2020, Flemington Racecourse
Kurios has been CANCELLED due to coronavirus - visit www.cirquedusoleil.com/faq/covid-19 for more information
Speakeasy HQ 20 Act Vaudeville and Burlesque   - Friday 21 February 2020 to Saturday 27 June 2020 - Performing arts

Speakeasy HQ 20 Act Vaudeville and Burlesque

21 Feb 2020 - 27 Jun 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Indulge yourself at the last great Australian vaudeville and burlesque theatre and bar with up to 20 different performances from circus to burlesque.
Burlesque Magnifique - Friday 08 November 2019 to Saturday 27 June 2020 - Performing arts

Burlesque Magnifique

8 Nov 2019 - 27 Jun 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Witness stunning, live burlesque performed in Australia's most lavish vaudeville and burlesque theatre, presented in an 1856 Edwardian gold rush bank.
Essentially Ella Fitzgerald with Meg Hickey - Tuesday 21 January 2020 to Friday 25 September 2020 - Performing arts

Essentially Ella Fitzgerald with Meg Hickey

21 Jan 2020 - 25 Sep 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Enjoy the stunning songs of Ella Fitzgerald performed with live piano by cabaret sensation Meg Hickey.

Refine results

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch