Theatre & shows - City of Melbourne
Skip to main content
Search by
Date
Category
Search
Search
Date
Category
Clear

Theatre & shows

Theatre interior
Melbourne's theatre scene offers a wealth of entertainment, from blockbuster musicals to cutting-edge performances and late-night cabaret shows.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
 

 Major performances

 
Image of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Wed 16 Jan 2019 to Sun 12 Jul 2020
Experience the magic of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two.
Image of Billy Elliot the Musical
Thu 20 Feb 2020 to Sat 30 May 2020
Be inspired. Be electrified. Billy Elliot the Musical is coming to Melbourne's Regent Theatre!
Image of Come From Away
Wed 03 Jul 2019 to Sun 08 Mar 2020
Don't miss this new Broadway musical that tells the true 9/11 story of thousands of stranded passengers and the Newfoundland town that welcomed them.
Image of War Horse
Fri 10 Jan 2020 to Sat 08 Feb 2020
War Horse, the unforgettable theatrical event from the National Theatre of Great Britain, is returning to Melbourne in February 2020.
Image of Chicago
Sat 14 Dec 2019 to Sun 23 Feb 2020
A universal tale of fame, fortune and all that jazz, Chicago has one show-stopping song after another and the slickest dancing in town.
Image of Hamlet - The Australian Shakespeare Company
Fri 20 Dec 2019 to Sun 09 Feb 2020
The Australian Shakespeare Company's 'Under the Stars' program presents Hamlet, arguably the greatest tragedy in English theatre.
Image of Cirque du Soleil's Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities
Thu 12 Mar 2020 to Sun 26 Apr 2020
Cirque du Soleil's brand new show, Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities is set to tour Melbourne from March 2020 under the new grey and white Big Top.
Image of Melbourne International Comedy Festival
Wed 25 Mar 2020 to Sun 19 Apr 2020
The lights of Melbourne shine a little bit brighter when the Melbourne International Comedy Festival takes over town!
 

 All performances

 
Chicago  - Saturday 14 December 2019 to Sunday 23 February 2020 - Performing arts

Chicago

14 Dec 2019 - 23 Feb 2020, Arts Centre Melbourne
A universal tale of fame, fortune and all that jazz, Chicago has one show-stopping song after another and the slickest dancing in town.
Come From Away - Wednesday 03 July 2019 to Sunday 08 March 2020 - Performing arts

Come From Away

3 Jul 2019 - 8 Mar 2020, Comedy Theatre
Don't miss this new Broadway musical that tells the true 9/11 story of thousands of stranded passengers and the Newfoundland town that welcomed them.
Illusionaire Magic Show - Friday 07 February 2020 to Saturday 15 February 2020 - Performing arts

Illusionaire Magic Show

7 Feb 2020 - 15 Feb 2020, Athenaeum Theatre
See illusionist couple Sam Angelico and Rosanna Maccarrone as they captivate their audience in a show that will leave you delightfully flabbergasted.
Chicago and All That Jazz - Friday 17 January 2020 to Friday 31 January 2020 - Performing arts

Chicago and All That Jazz

17 Jan 2020 - 31 Jan 2020, Speakeasy HQ
What better place to take in the brilliance of Chicago's stunning musical anthems than at Speakeasy HQ.
War Horse - Friday 10 January 2020 to Saturday 08 February 2020 - Performing arts

War Horse

10 Jan 2020 - 8 Feb 2020, Regent Theatre
War Horse, the unforgettable theatrical event from the National Theatre of Great Britain, is returning to Melbourne in February 2020.
Smells Like a Song - Saturday 08 February 2020 to Saturday 28 March 2020 - Performing arts

Smells Like a Song

8 Feb 2020 - 28 Mar 2020, Courthouse Hotel
Smells Like A Song has Impro Melbourne players pulling an entire improvised musical out of thin air. The audience decides the moment a song is needed.
The Modern Jazz Rebellion  - Friday 13 December 2019 to Saturday 21 March 2020 - Performing arts

The Modern Jazz Rebellion

13 Dec 2019 - 21 Mar 2020, Speakeasy HQ
The era of jazz from Billie Holliday to postmodern jukebox, presented by Taylor Bradfield.
Hamlet - Thursday 23 April 2020 to Sunday 10 May 2020 - Performing arts

Hamlet

23 Apr 2020 - 10 May 2020, Arts Centre Melbourne
Ordered to kill. Tempted to resist. Live or die. Bell Shakespeare's presents one of Shakespeare's most iconic and tragic works.
Weekly Bible Study (Secret Vaudeville) - Tuesday 07 January 2020 to Tuesday 30 June 2020 - Performing arts

Weekly Bible Study (Secret Vaudeville)

7 Jan 2020 - 30 Jun 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Whisper the password 'Knuckles sent me' and gain entry to a secret vaudeville and burlesque show with live acts, a headline act and cocktails.
Shakespeare in the Supreme - Thursday 13 February 2020, 6pm to 7:30pm - Performing arts

Shakespeare in the Supreme

13 Feb 2020, Supreme Court of Victoria Library
The Law Library of Victoria and BottledSnail Productions presents a series of rehearsed play readings, launching with Romeo and Juliet.

Refine results

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch