Theatre & shows - City of Melbourne
Skip to main content
Search by
Date
Category
Search
Search
Date
Category
Clear

Theatre & shows

Theatre interior
Melbourne's theatre scene offers a wealth of entertainment, from blockbuster musicals to cutting-edge performances and late-night cabaret shows.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
 

 Major performances

 
Image of Billy Elliot the Musical
Thu 20 Feb 2020 to Sat 30 May 2020
Be inspired. Be electrified. Billy Elliot the Musical is coming to Melbourne's Regent Theatre!
Image of Shrek the Musical
Sun 16 Feb 2020 to Sun 03 May 2020
The lavish and fun multi-million dollar musical comedy Shrek the Musical plays Melbourne's Her Majesty's Theatre.
Image of Come From Away
Wed 03 Jul 2019 to Sat 21 Mar 2020
Don't miss this new Broadway musical that tells the true 9/11 story of thousands of stranded passengers and the Newfoundland town that welcomed them.
Image of Friends! The Musical Parody
Thu 27 Aug 2020 to Sat 29 Aug 2020
Friends! The Musical Parody celebrates the misadventures of our favourite group of 20-something pals in life, wok and love in 1990s Manhattan.
Image of Cirque du Soleil's Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities
Thu 12 Mar 2020 to Sun 10 May 2020
Cirque du Soleil's brand new show, Kurios: Cabinet of Curiosities is set to tour Melbourne from March 2020 under the new grey and white Big Top.
Image of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Wed 16 Jan 2019 to Sun 12 Jul 2020
Experience the magic of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two.
Image of Melbourne International Comedy Festival
Wed 25 Mar 2020 to Sun 19 Apr 2020
The lights of Melbourne shine a little bit brighter when the Melbourne International Comedy Festival takes over town!
 

 All performances

 
Marlene Dietrich: Perfect Illusion - Monday 02 March 2020 to Thursday 05 March 2020 - Performing arts

Marlene Dietrich: Perfect Illusion

2 Mar 2020 - 5 Mar 2020, The Butterfly Club
Aged 74, Marlene Dietrich prepares for her last concert, taking a self-deprecating journey through her life.
Marvel Universe Live - Thursday 02 April 2020 to Monday 06 April 2020 - Performing arts

Marvel Universe Live

2 Apr 2020 - 6 Apr 2020, Rod Laver Arena
Superhero action, thrills and drama will soar, smash and burst onto Rod Laver Arena with Marvel Universe Live.
Torch the Place - Saturday 08 February 2020 to Monday 23 March 2020 - Performing arts

Torch the Place

8 Feb 2020 - 23 Mar 2020, Arts Centre Melbourne
Benjamin Law makes his playwriting debut with Torch the Place, a poignant modern comedy about finding clarity in the clutter of life.
Midnight Masquerade Burlesque - Friday 28 February 2020 to Friday 20 March 2020 - Performing arts

Midnight Masquerade Burlesque

28 Feb 2020 - 20 Mar 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Indulge your senses at Midnight Masquerade for a night of unforgettable burlesque, presented in a repurposed Edwardian gold-rush era bank vault.
Speakeasy HQ 20 Act Vaudeville and Burlesque   - Friday 21 February 2020 to Saturday 30 May 2020 - Performing arts

Speakeasy HQ 20 Act Vaudeville and Burlesque

21 Feb 2020 - 30 May 2020, Speakeasy HQ
Indulge yourself at the last great Australian vaudeville and burlesque theatre and bar with up to 20 different performances from circus to burlesque.
Not Beethoven - Wednesday 04 March 2020, 7:30pm to 9:30pm - Performing arts

Not Beethoven

4 Mar 2020, Medley Hall
A legacy honoured, reimagined and reinterpreted. It’s Beethoven, but not as you know it. Featuring special guests, the Partridge String Quartet.
Cactus - Tuesday 23 June 2020 to Sunday 28 June 2020 - Performing arts

Cactus

23 Jun 2020 - 28 Jun 2020, La Mama Courthouse
Everyone knows that friendships made in bathrooms are ones that last for life.
Katyn’ - Wednesday 17 June 2020 to Sunday 21 June 2020 - Performing arts

Katyn’

17 Jun 2020 - 21 Jun 2020, La Mama Courthouse
Join the 80th Anniversary Tour (1940–2020) to Katyn Forest with Uncle Joe and Friends, to visit the most infamously ignored crime of the 20th century.
In the Mirror - Tuesday 09 June 2020 to Sunday 14 June 2020 - Performing arts

In the Mirror

9 Jun 2020 - 14 Jun 2020, La Mama Courthouse
Written and directed by Mammad Aidani, In the Mirror is about Shaun and Virginia, who are desperately looking for work.
The Sublime … Version 2 … A Further Examination - Tuesday 02 June 2020 to Sunday 07 June 2020 - Performing arts

The Sublime … Version 2 … A Further Examination

2 Jun 2020 - 7 Jun 2020, La Mama Courthouse
This new work is a follow-up to the production performed in June 2019.

Refine results

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch