Originally located in Yorkshire, England, and built in 1755 by the parents of Captain James Cook, Cooks’ Cottage was brought to Melbourne by Sir Russell Grimwade in 1934.
Navigator and explorer Captain James Cook never lived in the cottage – he’d been away from home for almost ten years when his father built it – but this connection to the Cook family was enough to prompt Grimwade to transport the cottage to the other side of the world. Astonishingly, each brick was individually numbered, packed into barrels and then shipped to Australia, along with cuttings of the original ivy coverings.
Come and explore this historic oddity and learn about its English origins and relocation to Melbourne, visit the adjacent cottage garden with medicinal herbs and remedies and dress in 18th century costumes.
Entry to the cottage includes a comprehensive fact sheet for a self-guided tour. Available in English, Cantonese, Mandarin, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Thai, Indonesian, Japanese, German, French and Korean. Mandarin and Indonesian translations are available for the multi-media experience.
Tickets and souvenirs can be purchased from the Fitzroy Gardens Visitor Centre, just 100 metres away. All major cards are accepted for payment, as well as Alipay and WeChat Pay.
Getting to Cooks' Cottage
- 15 minute walk from Federation Square and easy walking distance from the city centre
- Free City Circle tram – disembark at Spring Street, Treasury Gardens stop
- Tram routes 48 or 75 – disembark at Wellington Parade, adjacent to Fitzroy Gardens
- Train – disembark at Parliament or Jolimont Stations
- Public car parking surrounds the gardens (parking tickets may be required)
What's On at Cooks' Cottage
Cooks’ Cottage Spring Seek and Find 21 September – 13 October. A fun-filled and interactive adventure, with a prize on completion. The activity is self-led and suitable for primary school-aged children.